UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULES 11 AND 12 — ON THE SAME TACK

Rules 11 and 12 are the basic rules for boats on the same tack. When boats
are on the same fack they can either be overlapped or not overlapped. If they
are overlapped, they are either a windward boat or a leeward boat. If they are
not overlapped, they are either clear ahead or clear astern. See the discussion
of the definition Clear Astern and Clear Abead; Overlap.

RULE 11 — ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED

When boats are on the same #ack and overlapped, a windward boat shall

keep clear of a leeward boat.

When boats on the same fack are overlapped, rule 11 applies. When boats
are on much different angles of sail, it is often difficult to know which is the
leeward boat. The boat that will hit the other’s leeward side or be hit on her
own windward side is the leeward boat. As a good rule of thumb, the boat
that is on the point of sail closer to the wind is typically the leeward boat; i.e.,
between a boat sailing downwind and a boat sailing close-hauled, the close-
hauled boat is usually the leeward boat.

7 oo “I realize that when I'm the windward boat I have to keep clear of the

> leeward boat, but how far away do I need to stay?”

Far enough away so that while the leeward boat (L) is sailing on a straight

line, you do not hit L or force L to take any avoiding action to miss you; e.g.,
have to change her course, ease her spinnaker pole forward or require any of
her crew to duck or move to avoid being hit.

Furthermore, you need to be far enough away so that the leeward boat can
change course in both directions without immediately making contact with
you. If you allow yourself to get so close to L that she is physically unable to
change her course without immediately hitting you, you are not keeping clear
under the definition Keep Clear and are breaking rule 11. Note that the word
“if” in the second part of the definition suggests that L does not need to
actually hit you to prove she couldn’t change course without hitting you. If
the protest committee decides that L couldn’t change course without immediate
contact, then you have broken rule 11 simply by your extreme close proximity
to L.

More importantly, anytime L cannot sail her course without a need to take
action to avoid you, you have not kept# clear and have broken rule 11. There-
fore, you will be smart not to allow yourself to get so close that you will
possibly interfere with L in the least. Notice also that when L is head to wind,
it is quite possible that you will be required to go beyond head to wind (i.e.,
change tacks) in order to keep clear. If this is the case, you must do so. Also,
if you are converging with L and both of you are sailing on what you each

believe to be your proper course, rule 11 requires you to keep clear of L.



