UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULE 15 — ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY

When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room
to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s

actions.

This rule states one of the oldest and most fundamental principles in the rules,

and it makes perfect sense. When a boat takes action that gives her the right
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of way over you, she must give you the chance to respond and keep clear of
her. For example, you are sailing on a run on port tack with another port-tack
boat just to windward. As the leeward boat, you have the right-of-way (rule
11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped) and everything is under control. You have
the “sword,” so to speak, and the windward boat must stay out of your way.
Suddenly, the windward boat gybes. Now she is on starboard tack and you are
on port tack. She now has the right-of-ways; i.e., she now has the “sword” (rule
10, On Opposite Tacks), but she can’t just gybe and hit you; her actions are
limited by rule 15.

Case 24 describes a scenario where a boat (B) comes up from astern and
becomes overlapped to leeward of the boat clear abead. When B becomes
overlapped she gains the right of way under rule 11, but also the limitation
under rule 15 “which embodies the principle in the rules that when the right
of way shifts from one boat to another, the boat with the newly acquired right
of way must give the other boat space and time for response and thus a fair
opportunity to keep clear.” (See also Case 53.)

Note that a right-of-way boat does not have to anticipate that she will lose
her right of way. Case 53 is clear on this point: “Allowing adequate time for
response, when rights and obligations change between two boats, is implied
in rule 15 by its requirement to allow the newly obligated boat ‘room to keep
clear.’” Therefore, in the example above, the leeward boat need not anticipate
her requirement to keep clear as a port-tack boat before the windward boat
gybes to starboard.

However, the use of the word “initially” clearly states that the protection of
“room to keep clear” is not continuing. In the old video game Deluxe Asteroids,
a tiny rocket ship tries to blast apart large rocks that will blow up the ship if
they hit her. When there are just too many rocks about to hit, the player can
press a button, putting a protective force shield around the ship. At first, the
rocks bounce off the shield, but after a few seconds the shield begins to fade
and disappear.

The room to respond to a newly acquired obligation to keep clear is a
temporary “shield” for the new keep-clear boat. It is very strong initially, but
fades in strength as the seconds go by. Also, for you to be entitled to the pro-
tection of the ‘shield’ you must, at the moment you become the keep-clear
boat, make a prompt and careful attempt to begin to get clear of the right-of-
way boat. If you delay at all, you lose the protection of “room to keep clear”

and you run the risk of fouling the right-of-way boat.

LET'S LOOK AT SOME COMMON SITUATIONS on the race course

where this principle of transition comes into play:

Becoming overlapped to leeward of a boat from clear astern (common during

pre-start maneuvering and when sailing downwind):

Two boats on the same tack are sailing near each other, one clear astern (BL)
of the other (AW) and catching up. While BL is approaching AW, she must keep
clear. When she becomes overlapped to leeward of AW, rule 12 (clear astern/
clear abead) ceases to apply and she instantly becomes the right-of-way boat
under rule 11 (windward/leeward). This is when rule 15 requires her to initially
give AW room to keep clear of her. Remember that AW does not need to antici-
pate that BL will gain the right of way; therefore she does not need to take any
evasive action before the overlap is created. And if AW luffs within the first few
seconds of the overlap and her stern hits BU’s bow, typically it will be decided
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by a protest committee that BL failed to give AW the space she needed to turn
out of BU’s ways; i.e., that BL broke rule 15.

Rule 15 does not change the fact that W is required to keep clear of L.
Case 53 makes the point that the keep-clear boat must respond immediately:
“After L became overlapped to leeward of W, W immediately trimmed her
sails, headed up, and thereafter kept clear. By taking these actions, W fulfilled
her obligations under rule 11.” Case 7 states, “...L was bound by rule 15 to
allow W room to keep clear, but that obligation is not a continuing one, and
in this case the overlap had been in existence for a considerable period during

which W certainly had room to keep clear.” (See Case 24 and Appeal 43.)

“If 'm on the starting line and a boat from astern puts her bow so close
to leeward of me that she couldn’t head up without immediately bitting
me, but then she immediately bears away and gives me room to head up

and keep clear of her, does she comply with rule 15, and am I exonerated
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for my momentary breach of rule 11¢”

Yes and Yes. Rule 15 states that the rule goes into effect “when” the right-of-
way boat acquires the right of way. When a boat clear astern (B) establishes
an overlap within inches of a boat clear abead (A), A is by definition not keep-
ing clear at that moment because if B headed up she would immediately make
contact with A (see the definition Keep Clear). When B establishes the overlap,
rule 15 requires B to initially give A room to keep clear. As long as B immedi-

ately bears away and gives A the space A needs to head up and keep clear of

her, then B has complied with rule 15. And as long as A promptly takes action
to keep clear of B in a seamanlike way (by turning her boat away from B and
trimming her mainsail), she is sailing within the room to which she is entitled,
and is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration) for her momentary breach
of rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped) (see Case 146 and Appeal 119).

Tacking into a right-of-way position to leeward of a right-of-way boat

(commonly known as “lee-bowing”):

While a boat is tacking near another boat, rule 13 (While Tacking) requires
her to keep clear of the other boat from the time she passes head to wind until
she is on a close-hauled course. But, once she is on a close-hauled course, and
if she has become the right-of-way boat, rule 15 applies. For a good analogy
(though this may not be the actual highway law), picture yourself coming up
the entrance ramp to a three-lane highway. Cars driving down the right-hand
lane must stay clear of other cars in the right-hand lane in front of them. While
you’re on the ramp you cannot interfere with cars driving in the right-hand
lane. If, while you are moving across the white line into the right-hand lane,
a car hits you or swerves to miss you, you are in the wrong. But once you get
all four wheels across the line, you are now technically in the right-hand lane
yourself and cars coming up from behind have to avoid hitting you. However,
these cars are not required to begin to avoid you or even to anticipate avoiding
you until you are completely in the lane. Once you are in the lane they have
to try reasonably hard to miss you. If they can’t, then you’ve moved on too
close in front of them.

The same is true in sailboats. Let’s say 'm on starboard tack, you’re ap-
proaching me on port tack, and you want to tack on my lee-bow or in front
of me. If I could hit you before you passed head to wind (i.e., before you began
to cross the white line), you’d be wrong under rule 10 (port/starboard). If 1
could hit you after you’d passed head to wind but before you were aiming on
your close-hauled course (i.e., while you were crossing the line), you’d be
wrong under rule 13 (a boat past head to wind must keep clear). However,
the moment you get to your close-hauled course (i.e., completely in my lane)
and you are either clear abead or to leeward of me, you have the right of way
under either rule 12 (clear astern/clear abead) or rule 11 (windward/leeward)

and I have to promptly take action to keep clear of you. This is when rule 15

Because B acquires right of way as a result of A’s tack, rule 15 does not require B to give
A any room to keep clear.

requires you to initially give me the room (space and time) I need to keep
clear of you. Of course, in most situations it will take me only a second or two

to react enough to luff or bear away slightly to avoid a collision.

“In protests involving the situation where P tacks very close to leeward
of S, it seems that P and S may often disagree on whether P was actually
on a close-hauled course before S changed course to avoid bher; or whether

P, after acquiring right of way, actually gave S room to keep clear. Are
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there any onuses to help resolve these disagreements?”

No. In resolving these disagreements, most protest committees apply the prin-
ciple in Case 50 (see rule 10 discussion), which is that they first put responsibil-
ity on S to satisfy the committee that the boats were close together. Then they
put the responsibility on P to satisfy them that P was on a close-hauled course
before S changed her course; and that once she was on a close-hauled course,
she gave S room to keep clear. This responsibility on P is often difficult to win
against. Hails to the effect of “complete-2—-3—4, now you’re changing course”
and a witness are very helpful.

Appeal 78 describes a situation where three port-tack boats (L, M and W)
were sailing upwind and L (the leeward-most boat) tacked to starboard
thereby acquiring the right of way. The middle boat (M) tacked to starboard
and kept clear of L, but she tacked so close to the windward boat (W) that
she and W could not avoid colliding, therefore breaking rule 15. The Appeals
Committee said that L, by depriving M of the space necessary to maneuver
without breaking a Part 2 rule, failed to give M room to keep clear (see the
definition Room). Furthermore, L caused the contact between M and W. L
broke rules 14(b) and 15 against M and is disqualified. M is exonerated by
rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration) for breaking rule 15 against W.

Gybing into a right-of-way position:

The same is true when gybing. If two boats are running side by side on port tack
and the windward boat gybes, essentially the moment the foot of the mainsail
crosses her centerline she is on starboard tack and the other boat (P) must
promptly maneuver to get clear. However, S must plan to initially give P the

room she needs to keep clear, which includes space for P’s boom to cross over.

Completing penalty turns or starting after being over early:

Again, the principle applies when a boat is completing penalty turns for fouling
another boat or touching a mark (rule 44, Penalties at the Time of an Incident).
While making her penalty turn(s), she is required to keep clear of boats not
doing so (rule 21, Starting Errors; Taking Penalties; Backing a Sail). The mo-
ment she completes her last turn, she is no longer bound by rule 21. If she
suddenly acquires the right of way over a nearby boat, she must give this boat
room to respond. The same applies when she returns to the correct side of the
starting line to start after being on the course side of the starting line at the gun
(rule 21).

“What is the reason for the last phrase of the rule, ‘unless she acquires

right of way because of the other boat’s actions’¢”

Good question! This is to protect boats that suddenly become right-of-way
boats solely because of an action by the other boat. For example, you are sailing
upwind on starboard tack just to windward and slightly behind a boat to lee-
ward. Suddenly, the leeward boat tacks and is now directly in front of you on
port tack! Without the last phrase in rule 15, you would be required to give
the boat that tacked room to keep clear of you, because you have just acquired
the right of way! Clearly this would be unacceptable, hence the phrase. There-
fore, in the example above, assuming you had to take action to avoid contact,
the boat that tacked broke rule 10 (port/starboard), and rule 15 did not apply
to you.

Another situation where this applies is when two boats on the starting line
are on the same fack and the boat clear abead (A) bears away and creates an
overlap with the boat clear astern (B). The moment the boats are overlapped,
B becomes the right-of-way boat under rule 11 (windward/leeward). In this case,
B was holding her course and it was A’s action that gave B the right of way.
Therefore rule 15 does not apply to B, and if A were to suddenly luff and strike
B’s bow with her port stern quarter, A would be penalized for breaking rule 11
(On the Same Tack, Overlapped).



