UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028
RULE 17 — ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE

If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to
leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course
while they remain on the same #ack and overlapped within that distance,

unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat.

Rule 16.1 (Changing Course) is about limiting how fast a right-of-way boat
can turn near a keep-clear boat; rule 17 is about limiting where a leeward
boat (L) can sail when near a windward boat (W). Note that rule 17 simply
puts a “limit” on where L can sail when near W in certain situations. It does
not shift any right-of-way to W. When near each other, W must remember
that rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped) requires her to keep clear of L
wherever L is sailing.

The concept in rule 17 is simple: either L is “limited” to sailing no higher
than her proper course or she is “free” to sail up to head to wind if she pleases;
it is always one or the other for L whenever L and W are overlapped on the
same tack and within two of I’s lengths of each other.

Whether L is “limited” or “free” depends on the following four factors:

1) whether the boats are overlapped on the same tack (note: two boats
sailing downwind on opposite tacks can be overlapped (see the definition
Clear Astern and Clear Abead; Overlap); but rule 17 does not apply to

them;
2) whether the boats are within two of I’s hull lengths of each other;

3) whether L became overlapped from clear astern within two of her hull

lengths of W and was on the same tack as W at the time; and

4) whether the starting signal has been made.

A few clarifying points on the four factors listed above:

e When L is not “limited” under rule 17, she is “free” to sail up to head
to wind if she pleases (commonly described as having “luffing rights”),
provided if she changes course she gives W room to keep clear in a sea-
manlike way (rule 16.1, Changing Course). To clarify, even if L is only
overlapped with W by two feet, L can sail up to head to wind. Appeal
17 says, “A boat is head to wind when her bow is facing the wind, and
the centerline of her hull is parallel to it, irrespective of the position of
her sails.” This clarification is helpful because often when a boat is head
to wind her sails will blow momentarily to the other side giving the
illusion that she is past head to wind and therefore subject to rule 13
(While Tacking).

Remember that when L is head to wind, it is quite possible that W will
be required to go beyond head to wind in order to keep clear under
rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). If this is the case, W must
do so. If it’s not possible for W to keep clear without fouling other
boats to windward of her, W should clearly alert L that she needs more

room to keep clear (as required by rule 16.1).

e The only time L is “limited” is when she is on the same #ack as W and
becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern within two of
her lengths of W. That’s it! The “limit” does not apply when L overlaps
W when more than two lengths apart, or when W becomes overlapped
to windward of L, or when L becomes overlapped to leeward of W on

the opposite tack and then gybes.
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Whenever L becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern within two of her
lengths of W, she cannot sail above her proper course while less than that distance apart,
unless she promptly sails astern of W.

¢ Note that rule 17 uses the phrase “becomes overlapped.” This means
that any time a boat that was clear astern crosses a line perpendicular
to the clear abead boat’s centerline drawn through the boat’s aftermost
point in normal position, it is considered that the boat has “become
overlapped” to leeward of the boat that was clear abead, regardless of
how that line came to be in front of the boat clear astern (see the def-
inition Overlap). So even in the situation where a boat clear astern is
holding her course and a boat clear abead and to windward turns
down and creates an overlap, it is considered that the leeward boat

has “become overlapped” with the windward boat.

The “limit” in rule 17 only applies to boats that are “overlapped” on
the same tack. The terms clear ahead, clear astern and overlap apply

to boats on opposite tacks when sailing below beam reaches or when
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Whenever W becomes overlapped to windward of L, L can turn all the way up to head
to wind for the duration of the overlap, provided she gives W room to keep clear in the
process.

rule 18 applies; but rule 17 does not apply to those boats. So when a
starboard-tack boat and a port-tack boat are half way down a down-
wind leg and they are sailing side by side, neither has a proper course
limitation. This also means that if two boats are overlapped on the same
tack and rule 17 applies, and the leeward boat (L) gybes, now the two
boats are on opposite tacks (i.e., they did not “remain” on the same
tack) and rule 17 ceases to apply; and if L gybes back while remaining
overlapped with W, rule 17 does not apply and L has “luffing rights.”

¢ The “limit” only applies when L and W are within two lengths of each
other. The “two lengths” distance is determined by two of I’s hull
lengths; i.e., the length of I’s hull, and not the additional length of any
bowsprits, overhanging mizzen booms, etc. This is particularly impor-
tant when boats of different sizes are near each other. That means that
if rule 17 applies and the two boats remain overlapped but sail more
than two of Us lengths apart, rule 17 ceases to apply; and if the two
boats remain overlapped and converge again, rule 17 does not apply
and L has “luffing rights.”

e The “limit” in rule 17 is that L cannot sail above her proper course.
“Above” means on a course higher than the course that will get her to
the next mark as soon as possible. Because a boat does not have a proper

course until the starting signal is made, there is never any “limit” on
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Before the starting signal, even though L becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern,
she is permitted to sail up to bead to wind provided she gives W room to keep clear.
Houwever, after the starting signal, L may not sail above her proper course which, when
sailing to windward, is normally a close-hauled course.

L before her starting signal (see the discussion of definition Proper
Course). Therefore, before the starting signal, L can sail up to head to

wind at all times, regardless of how she became overlapped.

But at the starting signal, L will be “limited” or “free” depending on how the
overlap began (whenever it began). Note that this applies regardless of whether
the boats have actually started; i.e., have crossed the starting line or not. If
with 20 seconds to go before the starting signal L becomes overlapped from
clear astern within two lengths of W, then at the starting signal L is ”limited”
and must sail no higher than her proper course. If with 20 seconds to go W
overlaps L to windward, then at the starting signal L continues to be “free” to

sail up to head to wind if she pleases.

“So it sounds like the starting signal is the key moment in time for deter- @?
mining whether L is ‘limited’ or ‘free;” and that it is preity important for
overlapped boats to remember how they first became overlapped as the

starting signal approaches!”

Exactly right. Before the starting signal, L is not “limited” in any way; i.e.,
she can sail up to head to wind if she pleases. But after the starting signal, L

is “limited” to sailing no higher than her proper course if she originally
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L is slowly luffing up to a new proper course in order to get to a puff of wind sooner.
Because she would do that even in the absence of W, she is not sailing above her proper
course, and she is not breaking rule 17; and because she is giving W room to keep clear,
she is not breaking rule 16.1. W must keep clear under rule 11.

became overlapped from clear astern. The advantage of having Us limitation
begin at the starting signal is that it is a precise and predictable moment in time.

And the moment the starting signal is made, L instantly gets a proper
course (see the definition Proper Course). At that moment it is critical for L
and W to remember how they became overlapped! Hails when the overlap
first begins and throughout the overlap are going to be critical for producing

orderly starts and reducing disputes!

“Do I have to bear away to my proper course before the starting signal
)CEO;\/ is made; i.e., do I have to anticipate my obligation not to sail above my

P@ proper course after the starting signal?”

No. You do not have a proper course before the starting signal, and therefore
you are not “limited” as to where you can sail. When the starting signal is
made, and if you are now “limited” because you originally became overlapped
from clear astern, you are required to sail no higher than your proper course.
The course you will sail to get to the next mark as soon as possible will include
the course you are on at the moment the starting signal is made. If you must
then bear away to a lower course to get to the next mark as soon as possible,
you must do so immediately. For instance, if you are head to wind before an
upwind start, your proper course will be to bear away to a close-hauled course

or even slightly lower to build speed and sail upwind.
™

W “How does rule 17 work in a Slam Dunks”

wz

//
Ml ;5 M2

Because M becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern, she is “limited” to
sailing no bigher than her proper course. When L luffs, M is required to keep clear of
her under rule 11. Even in the absence of W, M would luff to keep clear of L. Therefore,
M is not sailing above her proper course and W must keep clear of M under rule 11 and
give her room under rule 19.2(b).

Good question! A “Slam Dunk” is an aggressive tactical maneuver used by a
starboard-tack boat (S) on a beat to windward when a port-tack boat (P) is
ducking close astern of her. (A detailed analysis of the Slam Dunk can be
found at the end of this chapter.) Consider two close-hauled boats on opposite
tacks (S and P) converging. P bears away to pass astern of S. When P gets near
S’s stern, S tacks. At some point during S’s tack, P becomes overlapped to lee-
ward of S. Is P “limited” or “free” under rule 17?

Let’s assume for this discussion that at the moment S passes head to wind,
she is clear abead of P. Therefore, when P becomes overlapped to leeward of
her, she and S are both on port tack, and rule 17 applies, meaning that P can-
not sail above her proper course, which in the absence of S is a close-hauled
course. In other words, P is “limited” to sailing no higher than a close-hauled
course. Of course, if when S passes head to wind, P is already overlapped to
leeward of her, then P would be “free” under rule 17 to luff up to head to
wind, but she would still need to give S room to keep clear under rule 16.1

(Changing Course).

“What bappens in the situation where L and W are both sailing their ;

proper courses and the two boats are converging; who has to keep clear?” b

W must keep clear of L under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). Rule
17 only requires that L not sail above her proper course. As long as L is on
her proper course, she is complying with rule 17. Note that the phrase in rule

17 “her proper course” clarifies that it is L who gets to sail her proper course.
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Therefore, when L is sailing on “her” proper course, W must keep clear under
rule 11, even when W’ proper course may be a lower course than Us. (See
Cases 7 and 14.)

Remember that a proper course is essentially any course a boat chooses to
sail in order to get to the next mark as quickly as possible. Therefore it is pos-
sible that there may be several proper courses at any given moment depending
upon the circumstances involved. It is also obvious that two overlapping boats
sailing for the same mark will converge. Note also that a boat’s proper course
is not necessarily a straight-line course. It can change with changes in the
breeze, current or waves, or with a change in the boat’s strategy (see Case 134
and the discussion of the definition Proper Course). However, whenever L
wants to change her course to a new proper course, she must give W room to
keep clear under rule 16.1 (Changing Course). A hail that she intends to
change course is strongly recommended.

If L is “limited” and W thinks that L is sailing above I’s proper course,
W must still keep clear (rule 11); she can then protest under rule 17. If the two
boats hit, and it were decided by the protest committee that L was sailing above
her proper course, both boats will likely be disqualified: W for failing to keep

clear of L (rule 11), and L for sailing above her proper course (rule 17).

S22 “What bappens when L wants to luff two or more boats and one of the

=~/ middle boats is subject to rule 17 relative to a boat to windward of her?”

Good question! Let’s take the situation where L and W are sailing down a
reach about two lengths or so apart and L is not “limited” by rule 17. A boat
from astern (M) catches up and becomes overlapped between them. When M
becomes overlapped on W, W is clearly able to keep clear, so M is complying
with rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way). And W can give M room to pass L such
that she is entitled to room from W to pass L (rule 19.2(b), Giving Room at an
Obstruction). Now L begins to luff toward M and W. M responds by luffing.
W must keep clear of M under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped) and
give her room under rule 19.2(b). And M is not breaking rule 17 because in
fact M is not sailing above her proper course. Here’s the reason. Take the two
boats involved, M and W. M became overlapped on W to leeward from clear
astern. Rule 17 requires M, therefore, not to sail above her proper course. In
determining her proper course, the definition Proper Course instructs us to re-
move the boats referred to in the rule using the term “proper course.” In this
case, rule 17 uses the term and refers to the windward boat W, so we remove
W. As M was sailing a course to keep clear of L, she would have been sailing
the same course in the absence of Wj; therefore, M was sailing her proper
course and not above it. (See Appeal 4.)
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promptly sails astern of the other boat’?”

This is to close a very subtle, undesirable loophole in the rule. Here’s a poten-
tial scenario: on a run, you sail into leeward of a boat that was clear abead of
you, but you realize that you won’t be able to sail past them due to their wind
shadow. You want to get out of there but you will have to luff above your
proper course to pass astern of them. No problem. Rule 17 clarifies that you
can certainly luff (i.e., sail above your proper course) provided you promptly
sail astern of W. If you luff and then realize that your bow won’t clear W’s

transom and have to pull your bow back down, you have broken rule 17.

“I thought there was a rule that said you couldn’t sail below your proper @((
course if you were to windward of another boat or clear abead of a boat @( @

that was trying to pass you to leeward?”

You are right; there *was®. But it was removed from the rule book entirely in
the 2009-2012 rules. The reason it was removed is that it wasn’t widely
known, it was very difficult to prove a boat was breaking it, and with far fewer
races run on triangular courses (where the rule balanced the game coming
into the gybe mark), the need for the rule is far less.

What that means is that if two boats (W and L) are sailing downwind over-
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If Barger tries to squeeze in between the race committee boat and L, and hits L or causes
L to bear off to avoid a collision, Barger breaks rule 11.

lapped, W can sail as low as she pleases in order to more effectively slow L
down by blanketing her wind, as long as she keeps clear of L under rule 11
(On the Same Tack, Overlapped), even if she is sailing below her proper
course. And if one boat (A) is clear abead of another (B), not only does B need
to keep clear under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), but A can
sail as low as she pleases to make it more difficult for B to become overlapped
to leeward and perhaps gain an inside overlap at a mark, even if she is sailing

below her proper course.



