UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULE 18 — MARK-ROOM

RULE 18.1 — WHEN RULE 18 APPLIES

Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the

same side and at least one of them is in the zone.

This is the rule that governs boats when they are near marks. Though rule 18
is the longest rule in Part 2, it is very clearly written and fits very sensibly with
the basic right-of-way rules in Section A. Again, the key to understanding it
is not to try to memorize its every detail, but to stand back and see how the

rule is trying to create orderly sailing when boats converge at marks.

“How do I know on which side the mark is to be left?” @:M

Good question. First of all, “side” in rule 18.1 refers to the boat’s side, not the
mark’s side. Therefore, when two boats are rounding or passing a mark going
in the opposite direction (as they might when they are in different races using
the same mark but leaving it on opposite sides, as in Case 26), rule 18 does
not apply, and the rules of Section A and B apply.

As for which side to “leave” a mark on, the notice of race or sailing instruc-
tions tell us which side the marks must be passed on, but only the sailing in-
structions can specify the rounding marks (i.e., the marks that the boat’s string
must touch) (see the definition Sail the Course (b) and rule ]J2.1(4), Sailing In-

struction Contents).

“Am I always required to leave all marks on a certain sides”

No. Rule 28.1 (Sailing the Course) only requires you to “sail the course” as
that term is defined in the definition Sail the Course. The definition Sail the
Course says, “A boat sails the course when (a) she starts; (b) a string repre-
senting ber track until she finishes, when drawn taut, (1) passes each mark of
the course for the race on the required side and in the correct order (including
the starting marks), (2) touches each mark designated in the sailing instructions
to be a rounding mark, and (3) passes between the marks of a gate from the
direction of the course from the previous mark; and then (c) she finishes. A
mark that does not begin, bound or end the leg the boat is sailing does not
have a required side.”

Therefore, when there are still two minutes to the starting signal, you can
pass a starting mark on either side you wish; and because you and other boats
are not “required” to leave the mark on the same side, rule 18 does not apply.
The same is true for other racing marks that are on your leg but that you are
not required to round or pass. So if you are on the final leg to a finishing line
that is set to leeward of the leeward mark, the leeward mark does not define
your leg such that you can pass it on either side. Again, rule 18 does not apply
at that mark.

POLTA
TRITCY A

Rule 18 is “talking” to all the boats involved in the rounding or passing maneu-

“To whom is rule 18 talking?”

ver, but fundamentally it is talking to the outside or clear astern boats. When
rule 18 applies, outside and clear astern boats, whether on port tack or star-
board tack and whether leeward or windward boats, must give mark-room
to inside or clear abead boats. Rule 18 also tells inside or clear ahead boats
how much room they are entitled to.

Remember, rule 18 is a rule of exception. In some situations at marks, an
outside boat otherwise holding right of way must nonetheless yield to an inside
keep-clear boat and even change course to move far enough away from the
mark to give the inside keep-clear boat the mark-room she needs to round or
pass it. At a downwind mark, a starboard-tack boat with a port-tack boat inside
of her and a leeward boat with a windward boat inside of her are examples
of this sort of situation that put a “limit” on the right-of-way boat. So, even
though you are the right-of-way boat approaching a mark or obstruction,

when rule 18 begins to apply, your right of way may be temporarily “limited.”

™
“As I approach a mark, when does rule 18 begin to apply to me?”

Rule 18 begins to apply between boats when at least one of them has reached
the “zone.” The “zone” is the area around the mark within a distance of three
(3) hull lengths of the boat nearer to it; and a boat is “in the zone” when any
part of her hull (not her sails or equipment) first is in the zone (see the discus-

sion of the definition Zone in chapter 5).

'P. DR
“Will the zone always be three bull lengths in every races”

Normally the zone will be three lengths. But the zone in team and match racing
is “two lengths” (rules C2.4, Match Racing Rules, and D1.1(a), Team Racing
Rules), in radio sailing racing it is “four lengths” (rule E1.1, Radio Sailing
Racing Rules) and in kiteboard racing it is 30 meters (Appendix E, Kiteboard
Racing Rules, Changes to the Definitions). There is no zone in windsurfing

fleet racing (Appendix B, Changes to the Definitions).

&' “So does that mean that rule 18 does not apply between boats if none of

them have reached the zone yet?”

Yes, that’s right! A leeward boat that may be an outside boat at the mark that
has luffing rights may luff a windward boat, subject to rule 16.1 (Changing
Course), right up until the point either of them first reaches the zone. Note,
this could be during or after the boats have taken their spinnakers down, etc.

in preparation for the mark rounding.
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But note that when either of the boats reaches the zone, rule 18.2(a)(1)
(Giving Mark-Room) requires the outside boat to give the inside boat mark-
room from that moment on, which in most situations is the space the inside
boat needs to sail to the mark in a “seamanlike way” (see the definitions Mark-
Room and Room). Therefore, in order to comply with rule 18.2(a), boats should
anticipate this by sailing a course prior to reaching the zone so that they will

be in compliance with the rule at the moment the first one reaches the zone.

“I understand now about the significance of the ‘zone;” but how do 1 e
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know where the ‘zone’ actually is on the water?”

Well, at first it’s difficult, and then after you’ve raced more and more it be-
comes easier to judge. Let’s say you race a 30-foot boat. Three lengths is 90
feet. That’s the distance from home plate to first base on a baseball diamond,
or approximately a third of a football field. Doing 6 knots (about 10 feet per
second) you’ll cover three lengths in just under 10 seconds. Measure it out and
mark it with two orange poles or something at your club so everyone will learn
to “guesstimate” it better. And remember that when the first part of your hull
is three lengths from the mark, the helmsman will be almost four lengths away.
“Okay, but what if two boats simply can’t agree on whether an overlap

was obtained or broken before reaching the zone?”

Competitors and protest committees should try their hardest to remember
and determine the facts. However, realizing that there will be disputes, the rule
writers built in some “guidance” to help resolve such disputes. Rule 18.2(e)
reads, “If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap
in time, it shall be presumed that she did not.”

In other words, if you come up from behind and claim that you got the in-
side overlap before the outside boat reached the zone, but the outside boat
disagrees saying that you were still clear astern when she arrived at the zone
and that you subsequently obtained the overlap, rule 18.2(e) states that if
there is “reasonable doubt,” it shall be presumed by the sailors that the over-
lap was not obtained in time. Similarly, if it goes to a protest hearing and the
protest committee has “reasonable doubt,” it shall presume that the overlap
was not obtained in time. In other words, in a protest you will have to satisfy
the protest committee that there is no doubt that you obtained the overlap in
time (see Appeal 92).

By the same token, if you have an overlap on an outside boat at say five
and then four lengths away, she will be required to give you mark-room under
rule 18.2(a)(1) unless she pulls clear ahead before reaching the zone. If she
claims to have “broken” the overlap just before she reached the zone, but you
disagree saying that you were still overlapped when she reached the zone, then
it is she who must satisfy the protest committee that there is no doubt that
the overlap was broken in time.

Satisfying the protest committee is generally very tough to do as it is usually
one person’s word against the other’s. Hails to each other regarding the over-
lap situation as the boats near the zone are very helpful to the point that they
are almost expected by good protest committees. Also, witnesses can be very
useful, particularly independent witnesses who were positioned exactly at the
zone and in a position to determine overlaps. But the bottom line is that boats
that will have the “burden of proof” under rule 18.2(e) should yield on the
water to be safe.

WHEN THE BOATS ARE OVERLAPPED

“When rule 18 applies between two or more overlapped boats, what

rights and requirements do the inside and outside boats have?”

RULE 18.1 — WHEN RULE 18 APPLIES

(a) Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark
on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. However, it does

not apply

(1) between boats on opposite facks on a beat to windward,

(2) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark
for one but not both of them is to tack,

(3) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or

(4) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19 applies.

m “Does rule 18.1(a)(1) mean that ‘mark-room’ doesn’t apply at the wind-

ward mark?”

No; rule 18.1(a)(1) means that if two boats are coming into a windward mark
on opposite tacks (including a finishing mark when the finish is at the end of
a beat), rule 18 (Mark-Room) doesn’t apply. But if the boats are coming into
a windward mark on the same fack, then rule 18 applies just like at any other
mark.

Case 132 says in effect that “two boats on opposite tacks are considered
to be ‘on a beat to windward’ (1) when the proper course for each of them is
close-hauled or above, or (2) when one or both of them have overstood the
close-hauled layline to the mark and are sailing below close-hauled.”

Picture a windward mark to be left to port or the left end of an upwind
finishing line, looking upwind. It would be chaos if suddenly a port-tack boat
could come in and call for mark-room from a starboard-tack boat while still
on port tack. While the boats are on opposite tacks, rule 10 (port/starboard)
applies; and if the pori-tack boat (PI) tacks to leeward of the starboard-tack
boat (SO) within the zone, she is subject to rule 13 (While Tacking) and rule
18.3 (Tacking in the Zone).

Notice that the exception in rule 18.1(a)(1) applies only when opposite-tack
boats are approaching a mark on a beat to windward. The reasoning is that at
all the other marks (offwind marks), even though the boats may be on opposite
tacks, they are going in more or less the same direction, or at least generally
converging at much smaller angles. Therefore, at leeward marks, inside/pori-
tack boats are entitled to room under rule 18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) from

outside/starboard-tack boats.

“What does rule 18.1(a)(2) refer to¢” - D>

This is a bit of a “loophole closer.” It covers situations that rarely arise, but
can. For instance, on a windward leg the wind shifts 60 degrees to the right.
Boats that were near the starboard-tack layline are now reaching on the leg.
They are no longer “beating” to windward or “on a beat to windward.” How-
ever, the boats on the left are beating up to the mark, so they are still “on a
beat to windward.” When a pori-tack boat (P) from the left meets a starboard-
tack boat (S) from the right at the mark, the exception in 18.1(a)(1) doesn’t
apply because both boats are not “on a beat to windward.” But because P’
proper course is to tack at the mark, and because S does not have to tack, the
exception in rule 18.1(a)(2) applies, meaning that rule 18 does not apply, P is
not entitled to mark-room, and she needs to keep clear of S under rule 10
(Opposite Tacks).

The same is true when two boats are sailing to an offset or a gybe mark
and a boat finds herself below the mark (due to current or a windshift or strong
wind carrying her lower than she wanted to be), and she has to tack to get up
to the mark. Now she will be on the opposite tack from boats approaching
the mark, and because she will have to tack to sail her proper course around

the mark, she is not entitled to mark-room.

“Can you explain what the terms “approaching” and “leaving” mean in
rule 18.1(a)(3)2”

Sure. The rule writers wanted to make it clear that rule 18 does not apply to
boats that aren’t rounding the mark at essentially the same time. The rule clarifies
that if one boat is just completing her rounding maneuver and is “leaving” the
mark and she meets a boat that is just “approaching” the mark to begin her
rounding maneuver, neither boat needs to give each other mark-room. The
rules in Section A and B apply, including rule 16 (Changing Course) which
requires a right-of-way boat to give the keep-clear boat room to keep clear
when she changes course. This commonly comes up at port-hand windward
mark roundings when the boat rounding the mark will be on starboard tack.
She must watch for nearby port-tackers when she bears away around the mark.
Note that the exoneration from breaking rule 16 in rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration)
does not apply, because rule 18 does not apply due to the exception in rule
18.1(a)(3).

Finally, the exception in rule 18.1(a)(4) clarifies that if the mark is a con-
tinuing obstruction, such as an island the boats will be passing on a required
side, rule 18 does not apply and rule 19 (Room to Pass an Obstruction) applies
(see rule 19.1). This is primarily because it is an undesirable situation to require
a boat that was astern or overlapped on the outside when first arriving at the
island or long obstruction to continue to give the other boat(s) room even if
she gets ahead of them while passing the obstruction.

But remember, a race committee vessel is never a continuing obstruction
(see the definition Continuing Obstruction). Therefore, no matter how long a
race committee vessel is at the finishing line, rule 18 applies at that mark.

We’ve discussed thoroughly how rule 18 applies slightly differently in certain
situations, primarily at windward marks (including windward finishing
marks), leeward marks where inside boats need to gybe to sail their proper
course, starting marks and continuing obstructions. These are its only excep-
tions. Otherwise, the rules for “mark-room” are exactly the same at every other

mark on the course, including the finishing marks.



