UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

o “What if I physically can’t give room to the boat that just obtained the
@

$ inside overlap on me?”

That’s the second exception to rule 18.2(a). When a boat gets an overlap on
you just before you reach the zone, she becomes entitled to mark-room under
rule 18.2(a)(1) as an inside boat. However, you are not required to anticipate
her arrival. There are times, though very rare, when you may be physically
unable to give her the room she needs to round or pass the mark from the
time the overlap began, based on your situation at that moment. Rule 18.2(d)
says, “If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern or by tacking to
windward of the other boat and, from the time the overlap began, the outside
boat has been unable to give mark-room, rules 18.2(a) and 18.2(c) do not
apply between them.” In this situation, the inside boat is not entitled to mark-
room and the applicable rules of Section A and B apply. If she becomes the
right-of-way boat, she must comply with rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way)
which means she won’t get inside at the mark because if the outside boat could
have created enough room to do so, she would have done so in the first place.
And if she is a keep-clear boat, she must keep clear.

One example of where this situation might occur is a tightly packed mark
rounding in light air where a boat astern gets an inside overlap on a boat that
is three and a half boat-lengths from the mark, but there’s just no way the
outside boat can get everyone else outside of her to move away from the mark
in time to create room for the new inside boat. Another example is when two
boats are going so fast that by the time the outside boat can react to her new
obligation and make the room, the inside boat is already past the mark on
the wrong side. Twelve knots of boat-speed equals about 20 feet per second,
so on a windy reach a Hobie 18 will chew up three boat-lengths in less than

three seconds!



