UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULE 18.3 — TACKING IN THE ZONE

If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone of a

mark to be left to port, rule 18.2 does not apply between her and another boat

on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other boat has been on star-

board tack since entering the zone, the boat that passed head to wind

(a) shall not cause the other boat to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact,
and

(b) shall give mark-room if the other boat becomes overlapped inside her.

The concept in this rule is to improve the racing by trying to minimize the frus-
trating and sometimes dangerous congestion that can occur at crowded wind-
ward mark roundings when the mark is to be left to port. Problems are often
caused by port-tack boats approaching on or near the port layline and trying
to squeeze their boats in between the starboard-tack boats on the starboard
layline and the mark. Too often, these port-tackers shoot right back up after
tacking to try to make it around the mark, or they get hung up on the mark
itself, or worse: they fall back onto port tack directly in front of the approaching
starboard-tackers! Too many otherwise excellent close races have been ruined
by these actions; and with the popular trend toward shorter courses and more

races, the rule writers put this rule in the book to improve the game.

In a nutshell, rule 18.3 works like this (we’ll get into the technicalities below):

If you are approaching a port-hand windward mark on port tack (which can
include the port end of a windward finishing line) and tack in the zone near a
starboard-tack boat (S) that has been on starboard tack since entering the zone,
you must do it in a place that allows S to round or pass the mark without ever
having to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact with you or another boat.

Furthermore, if S gets an inside overlap on you at any time during her
rounding or passing maneuver, you must give her mark-room (room to round
or pass the mark). And if you are unable to do so, tough luck on you. Rule
18.2(d) (about not having to give mark-room if unable to do so) does not
apply because none of rule 18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) applies when rule 18.3
applies. Furthermore if S breaks rules 15 (Acquiring Right of Way) or 16
(Changing Course) while taking mark-room, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b)
(Exoneration). In other words, you are more or less a “sitting duck” for S!

The bottom line is: if you are going to come into a crowded windward
mark on port tack, it is better to cross nearby starboard tackers if you can,
and tack safely to windward of them. And if you can’t cross them, then it is
better to duck them than to try to tack close to leeward of them (lee-bow
them). And to be safe, approach the mark four or more boat lengths below
the port-tack layline so your tack to starboard tack is outside the zone.

™
“Okay, 'm ready to have you lead me through this rule!”

OK, let’s consider just two boats to begin with. First, rule 18.3 only applies at

a windward mark to be left to port (which can include a finishing mark).

Second, one of the boats must have tacked from port to starboard tack (passed
head to wind) inside the zone. Third, the other boat must be fetching the mark.
“Fetching” means a boat can pass to windward of a mark leaving it on the
required side without sailing past head to wind to do so (see the definition
Fetching). When all three of those conditions exist, rule 18.3 applies and rule
18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) does not apply between those two boats. That
means that while one of the boats is tacking, she has to keep clear of the other
boat until she completes her tack (rule 13, While Tacking). After that the other
rules of Part 2, Sections A and B apply.

If P completes her tack in the zone without causing S to take avoiding action
before P reaches a close-hauled course, then P is the right-of-way boat under
rule 11 (windward/leeward) or rule 12 (clear abead/clear astern). But if S has
been on starboard tack since she entered the zone and S is fetching the mark,
and S needs to sail above a close-hauled course to avoid P after P’s tack, then
P has broken rule 18.3(a).

“I thought that if a boat tacked inside the zone, she had no rights; and if

she caused me to change course at all, she broke rule 18.3.”

No! If P gets to a close-hauled course before you have to take any avoiding
action, then she has complied with rule 13 (While Tacking) and she is the
right-of-way boat. She breaks rule 18.3 only if she causes you to sail above a
close-hauled course to avoid her during or after her tack. If you are overstood
(reaching in above the starboard-tack layline) for instance, and avoid contact
by luffing up to a close-hauled course, she has not broken rule 18.3.

Note that when P and S are approaching the mark, rule 18 doesn’t apply
at all because the boats are on opposite facks on a beat to windward (rule
18.1(a)(1), When Rule 18 Applies). Furthermore, if P passes head to wind
outside the zone and then completes her tack inside the zone, rule 18.3 does
not apply. However, rule 13 (While Tacking) applies, and if S needs to avoid
P before she completes her tack (gets to a close-hauled course), P has broken
rule 13.

It can be argued that it is difficult to know exactly where the zone is, but
that is the case when applying the zone in any mark rounding or passing sit-
uation. Sailors approaching port-hand windward marks on port tack will be
well advised to be conservative when the mark area is congested and to com-

plete their tacks clearly outside the zone.

LET'S LOOK AT SOME SCENARIOS that will involve rule 18.3.

P approaches S at a port-hand windward mark, and passes head to wind in
the zone just to leeward of S who has been on starboard tack since entering

the zone:

Let’s say that when P gets to close-hauled, the boats are now one length from
the mark. As P (now the leeward/inside boat) approaches the mark, she realizes
she won’t make the mark unless she luffs above close-hauled. She does so,
thereby clearing the mark, but as a result of her luff, S sails above close-hauled
to avoid hitting her. P has broken rule 18.3. Note that even though she’s an
inside/right-of-way boat, P is not entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(a)
(Giving Mark-Room) because rule 18.3 specifically states that rule 18.2 does
not apply. The same would be true if S sailed above close-hauled to avoid P’s
transom as P bore off around the mark.

Had S been able to round or pass the mark without having to sail above
close-hauled to avoid P, then P would not have broken rule 18.3, and S would
simply be required to keep clear under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped).
Note that when P bears away (changes course) to round the mark, she is not
exonerated if she breaks rule 16.1 because rule 18.2 does not apply, meaning
she is not sailing within mark-room at that time and she is not “protected” by

rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration) (see the discussion of rule 43 in chapter 8).

P passes head to wind in the zone of a port-hand windward mark directly
ahead of S; once P is close-hauled, S must change course either up or down to
avoid colliding with her:

First of all, once P gets to a close-hauled course clear abead of S, S is required
to keep clear of her under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped). If,
despite her best efforts to avoid P beginning the moment P is close-hauled, S is
unable to do so and she hits P on the transom, P has “tacked too close” and has
broken rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way), and S is exonerated by rule 43.1(b)
(Exoneration). It is also likely that a protest committee would decide that S was
unable to avoid the contact, and therefore did not break rule 14 (Avoiding Con-
tact). If S does have room to keep clear of P but hits P on the transom anyway,
then S is not exonerated for breaking rule 12, and also breaks rule 14(a).

It could happen that when P gets to a close-hauled course, S can avoid hitting
P but is faced with the choice of overlapping P to leeward and ending up in
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a bad position or not being able to get around the mark at all, or sailing
above close-hauled to avoid hitting P. In my opinion, choosing to sail above
close-hauled to avoid contact with P is S’s only reasonable option, and therefore
P has “caused” S to sail above close-hauled to avoid hitting her, breaking
rule 18.3(a).

However, if P tacks far enough to windward of the layline such that S can
clearly overlap P to leeward and round or pass the mark, it could be argued
that P has not “caused” S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact with
her, because it would be reasonable to expect S to bear away and round or
pass the mark. However, if S chooses to sail above close-hauled and protest,
it will be the protest committee who decides whether S was “caused” by P to
sail above close-hauled, and my guess is they will give S the benefit of the
doubt. So port-tack boats will want to be very conservative with where they

choose to tack in the zone near opposite-tack boats!
P passes head to wind in the zone of a port-hand windward mark and S sails
in to leeward of her telling P to keep clear and to give her mark-room:

Note that when S becomes overlapped with P she instantly gets the right of
way under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped), so rule 15 (Acquiring Right

When a port-tack boat (P) passes head to wind in the zone and a starboard-tack boat (S)
that has been on starboard since entering the zone approaches her, P breaks rule 18.3(b)
if S has to sail above close-hauled to avoid hitting her, and P must give S mark-room if S
becomes overlapped inside of her under rule 18.3(b).

of Way) requires her to initially give P room to keep clear. But under rule
18.3(b) she is entitled to mark-room. Therefore S is exonerated (freed from
penalty) if she happens to break rule 15 (see rule 43.1(b), Exoneration). Note
also that if S needs to luff slightly to get up and around the mark, or bear away
to round the mark, that too is part of her rounding or passing maneuver, and
if she happens to break rule 16.1 (Changing Course), she is also exonerated
by rule 43.1(b). And if P is unable to give S mark-room, tough luck on P. Rule
18.2(d) (about not having to give mark-room if unable to do so) does not
apply because none of rule 18.2 applies when rule 18.3 applies.

The only “limit” on S is that, because she became overlapped from clear
astern, she cannot sail above her proper course under rule 17 (On the Same
Tack; Proper Course), which means she must bear away to follow her proper
course around the windward mark. And if the boats collide, remember that
both boats are subject to rule 14 (Avoiding Contact). Note, once P has tacked
within the zone, then for the duration of her rounding or passing maneuver,
which could take several seconds, a boat clear astern (S) is allowed to obtain a
leeward/inside overlap on P, and P must keep clear of her and give her mark-

room (i.e., room to round or pass the mark)!

LooK out..)
Yyou have to

keep clear of
me and give me
room+to rouno{
the mark.

Because P passed head to wind in the zone, P must keep clear of S and give S mark-room
if S gets an inside overlap. Furthermore, S can change course in either direction necessary
to round the mark, and if she breaks rules 15 or 16, she is exonerated (see rule 43.1(b)).

P passes head to wind in the zone of a port-hand windward mark directly
ahead of S, and S is unable to round or pass the mark due to the disturbed air
off of P:

If P tacks sufficiently far ahead of S such that S is not required to take any action
to avoid hitting P after the tack and remains clear astern of her, and then S fails
to make the mark due to the disturbed air and water caused by P, P has not
broken rule 18.3.

Two port-tack boats (PA clear abead and PB clear astern) are approaching a
port-hand windward mark in the zone. PA tacks without fouling PB. PB then
begins to tack to leeward of PA, but after PB passes head to wind, PA needs to
luff to avoid contact:

When PA reaches the zone clear abead of PB, she is entitled to mark-room
under rule 18.2(a)(2). When she passes head to wind, rule 18.2(a) turns off
(see rule 18.2(b)), and she is required to keep clear of PB while she is tacking
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(rule 13, While Tacking), and to initially give her room to keep clear when she
completes her tack (rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way). PA breaks no rules when
she tacks. When PB passes head to wind, she is required to keep clear of PB
while she is tacking, which she fails to do, so she breaks rule 13. Even though
she is on the same tack as PA and therefore the boats are overlapped, rule

18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) does not apply (see rule 18.3).

Two overlapped port-tack boats (PL to leeward and PW to windward) are
approaching a port-hand windward mark with S approaching as well, and
both PL and PW pass head to wind in the zone:

When PL and PW complete their tacks onto starboard tack, S is overlapped to
windward of PL. PW, now on the inside of the three boats, luffs above close-
hauled to make the mark. PL responds and is able to keep clear, but her luff
causes S to also luff above close-hauled to avoid contact with PL. Both PW
and PL have broken rule 18.3(a) because both of them passed head to wind in
the zone and both caused S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact. PL
directly caused S to sail above close-hauled; and it was PW’s luff that caused

PL to luff that caused S to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact with PL.

Rule 18.3 encourages port-tackers
approaching a congested port-hand
windward mark to approach about

four bull lengths below the port-
tack layline so that they can
pass head to wind during

their tack when clearly

outside the zone.

When PW changed course, rule 16.1 (Changing Course) required her to
give PL room to keep clear. “Room” includes the space needed to comply with
the rules in Part 2 (see definition Room). In this case, when she luffed, PW
compelled PL to break rule 18.3, so PL is exonerated for that breach by rule
43.1(a) (Exoneration).
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“It sounds like this rule eliminates the pori-tack layline and a port-

tacker’s tactic of lee-bowing a starboard tacker right at the mark!”

I don’t think the rule dramatically changes the way the top of the beat is sailed.
If you are doing well in the race, the windward mark rounding won’t be that
congested, and you will probably approach it as close to the layline as you
want. If you are farther down in the pack (out of the top 10, let’s say), coming
in right on the pore-tack layline isn’t a great look anyway. For at least some
of the time, you are sailing more slowly in the disturbed air and water of the
boats going downwind, or trying to pick your way through the starboard-

tack boats as they turn and go downwind. So for tactical reasons, as well as

because of rule 18.3, you will want to approach a port-hand windward mark
at least four lengths below the por#-tack layline so you can tack outside of the
zone.

To me, the most significant effect of this rule is on the decision the port-
tacker makes on whether to duck the nearby starboard-tackers and tack safely
up to windward of them or to lee-bow them (i.e., tack just to leeward of them)
and hope to make the mark from there. My personal experience (and I’ve been
there many times!) is that too often sailors choose the (dare I say) “greedier”
choice (lee-bowing), and end up not only not making the mark, but causing a
real mess for others at the mark. I think the net effect of rule 18.3 is that fewer

port-tackers tack right at the mark in crowds, which is a welcome situation

for all.



