UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULE 19.2(b) — GIVING ROOM AT AN OBSTRUCTION

When boats are overlapped, the outside boat shall give the inside boat room
between her and the obstruction, unless she has been unable to do so from
the time the overlap began.

The outside boat, whether the right-of-way boat or not, must give the inside
boat room to pass between her and the obstruction when she needs it, which
will be when she needs to commit to sailing on one side or the other of the
obstruction and needs room to do so.

A common example is two overlapped boats sailing upwind on port-tack
(PL and PW) approaching a starboard-tack boat (S). As the boats near each
other, PL bears away to pass astern of S. When PW gets to the point where
she must commit to either bearing away also or tacking, rule 19.2(b) requires
PL to give PW room to pass astern of S if PW chooses to do so (Case 11).

Another common example is on the starting line. Two overlapped star-
board-tack boats (SL and SW) are reaching down the line and approaching
another starboard-tack boat clear abead (A). If SL wants to pass or stop on the
windward side of A, she may do so by luffing, subject to rule 16.1 (Changing
Course) and 19.2(a), and SW must keep clear. If SL chooses to pass astern of
A, then she must give SW room to do so if SW chooses to pass astern as well.
This is true even if SW’s bow is ahead of SUs such that she will reach A before
SL. (See Case 117 and Appeal 36.)

D1 “What happens if it is not clear on which side the right of way boat will

AN pass the obstruction?”

Good question! Rule 19.2(b) is premised on there being an “inside” and an
“outside” boat. If neither boat is clearly the “outside” boat, then it is not possible

to apply rule 19.2(b). It will be up to the protest committee to decide, based

on the facts, whether there was an “outside” boat. If, in the starting line example
above, SL is aiming at the aft portion of A when SW needs to commit to pass-
ing A on one side or the other, I would say it is reasonable for her to assume
that SL will pass astern of A; i.e., on the “outside.”

However, consider the situation where two overlapped port-tack boats (PL
and PW) are sailing downwind and approaching a boat ahead on the same
tack (PA), with PW half a length ahead of PL. As both PL and PW are required
to keep clear of PA under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), PA
is an obstruction. If PL is clearly sailing a course to pass to leeward of PA,
then PW is entitled to room to do likewise when she arrives at PA.

If PL is clearly sailing a course to pass to windward of PA, then PW must
keep clear under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped); and when PL must
commit to passing PA to windward, she is also entitled to room from PW to
do so. However, if PL is aiming directly at PA’s transom, such that it is not pos-
sible to determine by the positions of the boats on which side of the obstruction
PL will pass, there is no clear “outside” boat. As PW will arrive at PA before PL
does, she should keep clear under rule 11 and should not anticipate receiving
room under rule 19.2(b). She may end up overlapping PA to windward as a
result of keeping clear of PL. If when PL arrives at PA she chooses to pass PA
to leeward, she must give room to PW (assuming the boats are still overlapped),
but that may be a moot point as PW may not be able to take advantage of
that space if she is overlapped close to windward of PA. Hails between PW
and PL regarding PLs intentions as the boats approach PA may be helpful, but
are not mandatory under the rules. (See Case 150.)

“If I am the outside boat, remind me how much space 1 need to give the =

inside boat?” &P
You have to give her “room,” which is enough space for her to sail between
you and the obstruction in the prevailing conditions in a “seamanlike way;”
i.e., sailing her boat in its normal way without risk of touching either you or

the obstruction.

. . . . a"
“Does the inside boat have to call for room in order to get it?” W

There is no requirement in the rules that an inside boat has to call for room
in order to get it, unless she is hailing for room to tack (see the discussion of
rule 20). However, I recommend hailing in advance to avoid problems later.

Boats are expected to know their obligations under the rules, which includes
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outside boats at obstructions. Case 41 reads, “QUESTION 2: Does BW have
to hail for room to pass to leeward of A? If not, would BL risk disqualification
by not giving room? ANSWER 2: BW is not required to hail for room, al-
though that is a prudent thing to do to avoid misunderstandings. Rule 19.2(b)
requires BL to give room to BW if they both pass to leeward of the obstruc-
tion, whether or not BW hails for room.”

& “How does it work when I want to establish an overlap between two
= boats on the starting line?”

Let’s say you were on starboard tack approaching two other starboard-tack
boats (L and W) sitting side-by-side near the starting line. You need to keep
clear of L under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), and W needs
to keep clear of L under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). Because

you both need to keep clear of L, she is an obstruction; but as a vessel under

Regardless of its length, a race committee boat is never a “continuing obstruction.” There-
fore B is permitted to establish an inside overlap and become entitled to room if A can
initially keep clear under rule 11 when B becomes overlapped to leeward of her (see rule
15), and is able to give B room from the time the overlap (see rule 19.2(b)).

way, she is not a continuing obstruction (see the definitions Continuing
Obstruction and Obstruction). Therefore, rule 19.2(b) applies, meaning that
you can establish an overlap between L and W even if there is not room at
that moment to sail all the way between them in safety.

If you become overlapped to leeward of W, she needs to keep clear of you
under rule 11; and you need to initially give her room to keep clear of you
under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way). W also needs to give you room to
pass the obstruction (L) if she is able to do so from the moment you became
overlapped with her (rule 19.2(b)). If she is able to keep clear of you and give
you room to pass L, then she must. However, if despite her best effort she is
unable to do so, then you break rule 15 if you hit W, or rule 11 if you hit L

or force L to avoid you.

“So if the inside boat gets her overlap so close to the obstruction that 1 @

physically can’t give ber room, I don’t have to?”

That’s right. Rule 19.2(b) says that if an outside boat is “unable” to give room
from the time the overlap begins, she doesn’t have to do so. This is a safety
feature intended to discourage boats from creating last-minute inside overlaps
near obstructions. Note also that if the boat astern is acquiring the right-of-
way when it establishes an inside overlap, it also has to comply with rule 15
(Acquiring Right of Way). So again, if the outside keep-clear boat is unable
to respond promptly and keep clear (which would likely result in them also
giving room), the inside boat breaks rule 15 and the outside boat does not
break rule 19.2(b).

“OK, but what do I do if I'm entitled to room but the outside boat doesn’t

give me room; can I get exonerated if I am forced to break a rule?”

Yes. Let’s say you (PW) and a leeward boat (PL) are on port tack approaching
a starboard-tack boat (S). It looks clear to you that PL is going to duck S, i.e.,
pass astern of her, and you begin to duck S as well. At the point in time that
it becomes clear to you that PL is not going to give you room, it is not possible
for you to tack without hitting S. You continue ducking S and your boom
touches PL. You both protest. First, at the point in time that it becomes clear
to you that PL is not going to give you room, it is not possible for you to
avoid contact with either S or PL; therefore you did not break rule 14 (Avoid-
ing Contact). Second, PL failed to give you room to pass the obstruction (S)
and therefore broke rule 19.2(b). Third, though you failed to keep clear of
the leeward boat (PL) and broke rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped),
you are exonerated (freed from penalty) by rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration) because

you were sailing within the room you were entitled to.

“When does rule 19 cease to apply such that I no longer have to give the

inside boat rooms”

Once the inside boat no longer needs room to sail between the outside boat
and the obstruction, the boats are no longer “at” the obstruction and rule 19
ceases to apply. For instance, take the upwind situation where PL and PW are
passing astern of S. Once PW has passed S such that she no longer needs space
from PL to avoid S, PL may assert her rights under rule 11 (On the Same Tack,
Overlapped) and can luff subject to rule 16.1 (Changing Course) and rule 17
(On the Same Tack; Proper Course).

“If I'm on port tack sailing as close to a shoreline or dock as I can, can

I call for ‘sea-room’ from a starboard-tacker?”

Absolutely not! First, there’s no such thing as “sea-room” in the racing rules.
“Sea-room” is just a term for “room.” Rule 19.2(b) applies only to boats that
are “overlapped.” Boats sailing upwind on opposite tacks are not overlapped
(see the definition Clear Astern and Clear Abead; Overlap). Therefore, if you
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are sailing close-hauled on port tack as close to the shore or a dock as you
can get, you cannot call for room from a converging close-hauled starboard-
tack boat. Rule 10 (On Opposite Tacks) applies and you must slow down or
bear off and take their stern. (See Cases 9 and 43.)



