UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

RULE 21 — STARTING ERRORS; TAKING PENALTIES;
BACKING A SAIL

RULE 21.1

A boat sailing towards the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its exten-
sions after her starting signal to start or to comply with rule 30.1 shall keep
clear of a boat not doing so until her hull is completely on the pre-start side.

RULE 21.2

A boat taking a penalty shall keep clear of one that is not.

RULE 21.3

A boat moving astern through the water, or sideways to windward, by backing
a sail shall keep clear of one that is not.

Rule 21 is actually three rules in one. Let’s look at rule 21.1 first. Rule 28.1
(Sailing the Course) reads, “A boat shall sail the course.” And the definition
Sail the Course says, “A boat sails the course when (a) she starts...”. So, if your
hull isn’t completely on the pre-start side of the starting line or its extensions
at the starting signal, you have to get there before you can start the race.
However, even when you and everyone else knows you are on the course side
of the starting line at the starting signal (OCS), you keep all your right of way
until you are sailing back towards the pre-start side of the starting line or one
of its extensions; i.e., you are converging with it. This means that you continue
to have rights even while slowing down or luffing in order to get clear enough
to turn back. When it is obvious that you are sailing back towards the starting
line, you must then keep clear of all boats that have started properly or are
on the pre-start side of the starting line.

Once your hull is completely on the pre-start side of the starting line or its
extensions, you are instantly subject to the Section A rules again; however,
remember that if you acquire the right of way over another boat, you have to
initially give her room to keep clear of you under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of
Way).

Notice that when rule 30.1 (I Flag Rule), commonly referred to as the “one
minute rule” or “round-an-end rule” is in effect, the requirement to keep clear
in rule 21.1 applies only when you are sailing towards either end of the starting
line to comply with rule 30.1 after your starting signal. Before your starting
signal you have your normal right of way, even when you are over the line and
obviously sailing toward an end to comply with rule 30.1.

Between two or more OCS boats sailing towards the pre-start side of the

line after the starting signal, the Section A rules apply in the usual way.

“I realize that if another boat fouls me and forces me to be over the start-

ing line at the gun I'm OCS, but do I have to go back and restarts”

I’'m afraid you do. If you don’t, then you haven’t started the race and have
broken rule 28.1 (Sailing the Course). And you are only exonerated for break-
ing a rule when another boat “compels” you to break a rule (see rule 43.1(a),
Exoneration). In your case, the other boat may have forced you over the line,
and you certainly should win your protest against her, but she hasn’t caused
you to not return to the pre-start side and start. Therefore no exoneration is
available (see Appeal 101). This is similar to the situation when an outside
boat wrongfully fails to give you enough room at a mark and forces you on
the wrong side of it. Though you were clearly fouled, you still must round the
mark on the correct side.

These are two examples of situations where you can be right under the rules
but have your finishing place seriously hurt by a keep-clear boat with no way
for a protest committee to compensate you. At these times I’'m reminded of
the old saying, “He was in the right as he sped along; but he’s just as dead as
if he was wrong!”

Rule 21.2 talks to boats that are doing either a One-Turn Penalty for break-
ing rule 31 (Touching a Mark) or a Two-Turns Penalty for possibly breaking
a rule of Part 2, under rule 44.2 (One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties). It clearly
tells them that, while they are taking their penalties, they have to keep clear of
other boats, which makes sense.

Notice that when you hit a mark or possibly break a rule of Part 2, you still
have all your rights as long as you continue sailing the course and while you
are sailing well clear of the other boats in preparation to doing your penalty
turn(s). But the moment it is obvious to other boats that you are clearly beginning
to make a penalty turn, you must then keep clear of other boats in the race.
You get your rights back when you have completed your last turn; but remem-
ber that if you acquire the right of way over another boat, you must initially

give her room to keep clear of you under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way).
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Note that if you touch a starting mark or possibly break a rule of Part 2
before the starting signal, you have to make your penalty turn(s) as soon as
possible, as opposed to waiting for the starting signal before doing them. And
when two boats are making a penalty turn, the Section A rules apply in the
usual way, as does rule 23.2 (Interfering with Another Boat).

Rule 21.3 covers the situation where a boat actually backs its sail (i.e.,
holds the sail against the wind) and thereby causes the boat to move backwards,
or sideways to windward (called “crabbing”), through the water. When a boat
does this, she must keep clear of any other boat that is not doing likewise.
Furthermore, she must remember that when she begins moving backwards or
sideways, her action gives the right of way to boats astern or to windward of
her; therefore they do not have to give her any room to keep clear of them
under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way) because they acquired the right of way
by the action of the boat moving astern or sideways.

Note that if a boat begins to move backwards or sideways due to the backing
of her sail, she continues to be subject to this rule for as long as she is moving
astern or sideways, even if she stops backing her sail. However, if a boat simply
begins to move backwards because she has lost her headway, rule 21.3 does
not apply to her.



