UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2028

PREAMBLE TO SECTION C

Section C rules do not apply between boats when the mark or obstruction
referred to in those rules is a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or
its anchor line, from the time the boats are approaching it to start until they

have left it astern.

The preamble makes it clear that none of the rules in Section C (18, 19 and 20)
apply when boats are approaching a starting mark that is surrounded by

navigable water or its anchor line to star until they have left them astern.

N
W “So does this having something to do with barging?”

Yes. I will explain what “barging” is. The preamble to Section C “shuts off” the
“mark-room” rules at the starting marks. The reason is that it would lead to
chaotic starts if windward/inside boats were entitled to room to pass between
the committee boat and leeward/outside boats at the start (it’s often chaotic
enough without them having that right!). When two boats are about to start
and a windward boat tries to sail in between a leervard boat and a starting mark
(often a race committee vessel), and hits the leeward boat or causes her to
bear away to avoid being hit, we say the windward boat is “Barging.” In fact,
she is breaking rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). (For more discussion
on “barging” see the discussion in Chapter 7 entitled “Section A and B Rules
in Action.”)

To accurately apply this rule, be sure you understand that an object large
enough to satisfy the definition Obstruction is always an obstruction, even
when it is used as a mark; i.e., it does not cease being one when it becomes
the other. Therefore a race committee vessel used as one end of the starting
line is both a starting mark and an obstruction at the same time.

Now, having said that the preamble “shuts off” rule 18 (Mark-Room) and
rule 19 (Room to Pass an Obstruction), there are in fact two narrow situations
when, for reasons of safety, the rules do entitle a windward/inside boat to

room at a starting mark from a leeward/outside boat.

Let’s look at those first.

1) At a starting mark not surrounded by navigable water:
Though this situation is not common, it will arise when one end of the

starting line is the end of a long dock or breakwater, or is a bell buoy that
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marks some shallow rocks or sandbars. “Not surrounded by navigable
water” means there isn’t enough water for the inside boat to sail around
the mark without running aground or hitting a dock or other object. At
such a mark, an inside overlapped boat is entitled to mark-room under
rule 18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) from an outside boat. And if the starting
mark is a continuing obstruction (such as the end of a long dock), then
the inside boat is entitled to room under rule 19.2(b) if there was space to
pass between the outside boat and the obstruction in safety at the moment
the overlap began (see rules 18.1(a)(4) and 19.2(c)).

2) At a starting mark that is also an obstruction when the boats are not
approaching it to start:

Again, when the starting mark is large enough to be an obstruction (such
as most committee boats), rule 19 (Room to Pass an Obstruction) applies
before boats are “approaching it to start.” Therefore, an inside over-
lapped boat is entitled to room at such a mark under rule 19.2(b) (Giving
Room at an Obstruction) from an outside boat, provided the outside boat
has been able to give the room since the overlap began. If the starting
mark is a continuing obstruction, then the inside boat is entitled to room
if there was space to pass between the outside boat and the obstruction
in safety at the moment the overlap began (rule 19.2(c)). This is for safety

purposes while boats are sailing past the marks well before starting.

So, if say at three minutes before the starting signal you were sailing along to

leeward of W and were about to sail to leeward of the race committee vessel,
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and for whatever reason W wanted to pass to leeward of it also, you would
have to give her room to do so under rule 19.2(b), unless you were unable to
do so from the moment the overlap began. Now to play this out, because
boats aren’t required to pass the starting mark on its “required” side yet (rule
28.1, Sailing the Course, and the definition Sail the Course), you can choose
to pass it on either side (see rule 19.2(a)). You, as the leeward boat, have the
right to sail where you please provided you make no sudden, fast course
changes (rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped, rule 16.1, Changing Course,
and rule 19.2(a)); therefore, you can choose to luff and pass to windward of
the committee boat. If, however, you choose to pass to leeward of the com-
mittee boat and fail to provide enough room for W to do likewise if she wishes
to, you have broken rule 19.2(b).

Note that when you break a rule, even before the starting signal, you must
take your Two-Turns Penalty immediately; you do not have to wait until the
starting signal to do so (rule 44, Penalties at the Time of an Incident). If W
happens to hit the mark (i.e., break rule 31, Touching a Mark) because you

didn’t give her enough room, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration).

7O “When is a boat considered to be ‘approaching a starting mark to
o €
= start’?”

Though this question has never been discussed in a case or appeal, I would
develop my opinion as follows. What is the purpose of the rule? Clearly it is
preventing the situation where windward/inside (WI) boats can reach in and
demand room at starting marks from leeward/outside boats (LO) that are try-
ing to start there. And “when approaching the starting mark to start” is
establishing the period of time during which these windward/inside boats
know that they are not entitled to any room. Before LO is “approaching the
starting mark to start,” W1 is entitled to room at the mark (provided it is also
an obstruction); and the rules are consistently clear in providing predictable
and specific times when a boat’s rights change. To me, this is no exception.
When LO is clearly on her final approach toward the line with the intention
of starting, i.e., crossing the line after the gun, it will be obvious to WI and
she will know to keep clear. Furthermore, a boat that is “approaching the
starting mark to start” and is close enough to the starting mark to shut out a
windward boat will clearly be starting in close proximity distance-wise to the
starting mark.

Therefore, in my opinion, a boat that in 15 knots of breeze goes reaching
full-speed by the committee boat with one and a half minutes to go before
the starting signal, and ends up starting halfway down the starting line, was
in no way “approaching the starting mark to start” at the moment she went
by the starting mark. But a boat that is passing the starting mark with ten
seconds to go certainly is on her final approach to start very near to the start-
ing mark. In addition, I feel that a boat that in light air sits nearly wayless
behind the race committee boat may be approaching the line to start at one
minute to go, and it will be more obvious and predictable that she plans to
start near the mark, and the windward/inside boats can see this and keep clear
accordingly.

This is a distinction that in general has caused very few problems, and in
general has been very liberally interpreted in the leeward/outside boat’s favor.
But until it is officially interpreted, the safe move on LO’s part would be to
allow WI room up to one minute before the starting signal; and the safe move
for WI would be not to try to force room with much less than two minutes to
go. Both boats have the option to protest, and the protest committee can then
decide whether LO was “approaching the starting mark to start” in the par-

ticular circumstances.



